Wtf!?! Please Help!

HeyItsMeBT

I have spend countless hours this week trying to figure out how to get decent download speeds but I just cant figure it out, it seems as though I cannot open the ports.

I am not an expert with computers, but I have decent common sense. Can anyone help me figure it out?

This is what I did:

• Went into Windows Firewall and added rules to allow BitTorrent  
  • Followed a couple Youtube vids about how to set optimal settings for BitTorrent (including seting port to 45682 and going into preferences/advanced to tweak some settings) ***this along with step 1. improved my download speed from 1-5kb/s to 40kb/s
  • Set my IPv4 IP to Static which I found after running cmd ipconfig/all
  • Went into my router and forwarded the following ports that were recommended (45682, 11136, 11092,12821) ***on a side note, this week I successfully forwarded ports to play Call of Duty Ghosts which changed my NAT type from Strict to Open.
  • In my router under security I checked Disabled for Block Anonymous Internet Requests

Notes

• After doing step 4 (port forward) my download speeds went back down to 1-7kb/s.
  • My internet speed is 5mb/s
  • Downloaded PFportchecker by portforward.com and it says that port 45682 for my IP address is CLOSED.
  • When using bit torrent I sometimes momentarily see a green check-mark indicating that it is configured properly, however after a couple of seconds it automatically changes to the orange triangle with exclamation (!). 
  • Im dont think this has anything to do with it but when I set my IP to static (step 3) I set my DNS to 8.8.8.8. and 8.8.4.4. (google)

What am I missing or doing wrong?  :angry:

Followed a couple Youtube vids about how to set optimal settings for BitTorrent (including seting port to 45682 and going into preferences/advanced to tweak some settings)