Problems with permissions/ Bittorrent has apparently disappeared

loneclone

I have been running Bittorent for many years on various PCs, but as of today I have a weird problem.

I noticed after the latest Bittorrent upgrade the other day I started getting asked to assume administrator privileges when I want to delete a torrent. That I can deal with, because the dialogue box offers that as an option, but now the application has become invisible, it seems.

By that I mean that by checking on a torrent website I can see that the Bittorent client is actually running on my PC, but associated process no longer appears in Windows Task Manager.

If I click on a torrent file itself  I get a message that I need an app to open it, but when I try to search for the Bittorent executable file cannot be found through the dialogue boxes.

I tried downloading the Bitoirrent installation executable to see what would happen. It told me I couldn't download it to my usual folder because I don't have permission. I was able to save it to another location, but when I double clicked on it, it suddenly vanished, and I got a message that it can't be found and that I may not have the appropriate permission to access the file.

By searching using Windows Explorer I found a number of instances of bitorrentie.exe, but they appear to be associated with past upgrades, In any case nothing happens when I click on them.

I have been using Bittorrent for many years, so I can only assume this is some kind of bug associated with the upgrade.

I have been using PCs since they were still called microcomputers, and have never seen the like before, so I hope someone can help me figure out what is going on. I know permissions problems can be gnarly to disentangle.