What Is BitTorrent In Plain English?

rhondassongs

I found an article on Digital Music News '7 Reasons why artist should avoid Bit Torrent' and made Bit Torrent sound pretty bad, but the replies in the comments section were so fiercely pro-bit-torrent... It made me curious. I've never heard of this place, only found out a few minutes ago this is something that millions of people seem to be using everyday. I got here, on the home page, and couldn't find anything that explained what it is.

Then I tried reading up on it on Wikipedia but my eyes glazed over after the first 2 paragraphs.

I'm a musician and film maker, not the slightest bit techie, but I'm interested in understanding what this is and how it works so I can decide for myself if it's something we should be involved with... if they even deal with independent people like me and my friends. Lots of doors are only open to major labels.

So, if you can just say in everyday language what this is and where I might find more information, I'd appreciate it.

thx

Rhonda

@RhondasSongs

The short version is that BitTorrent, from a content producer's side, allows their downloaders to contribute to other downloaders getting the content.

The technical aspects are a lot more complicated, but it allows you to have increased distribution speed to your target audience at reduced cost.

Blizzard uses a customized BitTorrent client for their updaters for Starcraft 2, World of Warcraft and Diablo III, giving their users far more speed than could be offered with just the server farm.

Our main page has a "BitTorrent Explained" video that you may want to watch as well.

Also, in the digital music news article, it has a VERY heavy lean towards mimicking the propaganda of the RIAA from the past decade. Point 4 is actually outright false.

Thank you. I looked at the youtube videos explaining BitTorrent. You share bytes so people can process big files. (I think)