Certain Torrents Extremely Slow While Others Fly

Guest SteveKasian

Guest SteveKasian

Hi,

I have been noticing this for years, but tonight it's really got me irritated to the point of posting about it in hopes that there might be something I can do to change it.

I have my router properly configured and have a 25MB/s downstream and a 5MB/s upstream connection on a very clean 3.4GHz dual core computer running Windows XP SP3 with about 30 processes running. (I am an IT tech and I know what I'm doing.)

Certain torrents scream at upwards of 4 and 5 MB/s while others crawl at a snails pace.

No global throttling is enabled, up or down. Upstream speed is throttled on each individual torrent at 150KB/s (but I have experimented with everything from 1KB/s to no throttling - many points in between. I've also experimented with a wide range of connection # limits. I've found that I get the best results with both Global Connections and Connected Peers Per Torrent set at 9999.

Right now I've got a torrent (#1) with 148(418) Seeds and 95(938) Peers coming down at 1.2MB/s to 3MB/s.

I have another torrent (#2) with 15(591) Seeds and 255(4164) Peers and it is crawling along at anywhere from 10KB/s to 100KB/s - It's average speed is down around 20KB/s.

What in god's name is going on with torrent #2?? I get this all the time - some of the most well seeded/shared torrents have the slowest download speeds. What gives? It drives me CRAZY!

Thanks,

Steve

What in god's name is going on with torrent #2?? I get this all the time - some of the most well seeded/shared torrents have the slowest download speeds. What gives? It drives me CRAZY!

Look at the difference in the ratio of seeds to peers.

Also, doing your upload limit per torrent instead of globally is probably part of your problem. And your connection limits are a massive contributing factor. BitTorrent doesn't work well when trying to maintain connections to that many peers at once.

Guest Steve Kasian