Slow Download Speed, Can't Figure Out Port Forwarding Settings. Suggestions On How To Improve The Manual -

minerran

Hello,

I am new to using BitTorrent and am not finding basic information in the online manual that is required to setup the application.    Here are some suggestions:

1. When user manuals are written (typically by software engineers who know the application intimately), the authors seem to not know the basic writing concept of "knowing your reader" and "targeting the intended audience".   Writing a general description of port forwarding is fine, but the user then needs to know what to do specifically.   Thus, the setup guide should include:

1. Which version(s) of bitTorrent is the manual applicable to?  I am using BitTorrent 7.9.1 and I saw some help on port forwarding that the setup guide menu took me to (at http://portforward.com/), where the menus and selections at http://portforward.com/ are for an older version of BitTorrent and don't even come close to matching.

2. Its clear that to setup port forwarding, we need to know the following:

a. Are we using TCP or UDP?   Which protocol does BitTorrent 7.9.1 use?

3. What are the port ranges to be used in setting up the forwarding?  I have read that BitTorrent uses port numbers in the 6000 range (don't recall where I saw this) but by default, BitTorrent 7.9.1 setup guide windows pops up with 26153 specified as the "current port".  Also there is a checkbox that says "Automatic port mapping (recommended)".   I check this but it does not seem to do anything.  Is port "forwarding" the same as "mapping"?  I would have assumed its the same (be consistent on terminology).

4. Where are the settings for port "ranges" referred to at portforward.com ?   I went to the BitTorrent 7.9.1 application, clicked OPTIONS, then PREFERENCES then selected the CONNECTION menu.

I see "Listening Port"   Port used for incoming connections with the default of 26153?   I thought this had to be a range?