queued seed question / help

doug968

I am somewhat new to this so please forgive me if this is stupid, but I dont think it is.

I understand the basics (or think I do) and I want to keep things going and be a good torrent user so I want files to seed after I download them.

So, I downloaded a bunch and everything was seeding (not everything was steadily uploading but everything was seeding). then I had to turn off my computer for a little bit and when I got back online only the first few were seeding and most were "queued seed"... I waited and waited and they stayed queued.

WHY? if I want all those available for other users to access why wouldnt they be available? they were previously, so I know its not that you cant have a bunch seeding at the same time.

anyway, at least for tonight I selected them all and force started them, so they are all seeding now. but I am sure this isnt what I should have to do.

any help explaining this would be appreciated, but I really cant imagine having a bunch downloading and more queued for download is fine with only a couple things seeding...

thanks

thank you, but putting aside the performance of my downloads, isnt it better for me to have more files seeding so they are available for people that want them, than having less that upload faster? some files have very few or no people seeding.