Settings For Faster Downloads

Frazier

Hello,

I am new to this and am just trying to find some settings that will help with faster downloads? I have tried a few different things, Youtube, Port forwarding, I'm thinking I have the settings messed up somehow because the downloads are slow. Needing a little tune up on correct settings.

Thanks,

Frazier

I'm thinking I have the settings messed up somehow because the downloads are slow.

You have, because of:

Youtube

You're going to need to, with bittorrent completely closed, delete settings.dat and settings.dat.old from %appdata%\bittorrent and start your settings over.

Follow

http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=15992

http://forum.utorrent.com/viewtopic.php?id=58404

Remember, you'll never get download speed any faster than your original internet speed. If you couldn't figure out how to bring your default settings, or if you are not satisfied that you've turned it to default, re-install your BT. Make sure to stop all active downloads and save your partially downloaded files and their torrent files before re-installation.

• 4 months later...

Hi all,

I stupidly changed the settings in the bandwidth, advnaced settings eventhough i was able to reach speeds of 500k/bs. Now, I am lucky to get 100k/bs. I wished I would have seen this thread before so I have a few questions.

Fisrt of, my system: Acer laptop, using bittorrent 7.7.3 and windows 7. 8gb ram and 64ogb hdd.

1) I see Harold advised Frazier to search in windows explorer the following: %appdata%\bittorrent. Nothing is bought back so I am unable to delete the details as described above

2) If i am able to delete the .dat and .dat.old will that interfere with any current downloads I have? In other words, if i were to stop now and delete the 2 .dat files will I lose what I have currently downloaded?